Russia extends e-visas to 52 countries including Belgium and Luxembourg

Starting February 2021, entry to Russia will be much easier as e-visas for tourism, business, humanitarian and guest visits will be issued online for stays up to 16 days.

A single e-visa will be introduced in Russia as of the beginning of 2021. Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin has signed a directive approving a list of countries whose citizens can apply for e-visas.

The list comprises the 52 countries whose citizens could apply for an e-visa during the pilot stage of the project. Qatar is not on the list because an agreement on mutual abolition of visa requirements came into force on 23 February 2020.

A pilot e-visa project was launched in 2017 and included a number of restrictions. For example, foreigners with an e-visa could only enter Russia through checkpoints in the Far Eastern Federal District, St Petersburg and the Leningrad and Kaliningrad regions. And they were not allowed to travel outside these regions.

As of now, the e-visa will be applicable throughout Russia. Foreigners can enter via the specially equipped checkpoints anywhere in the country and travel throughout Russia. In addition to this, the duration of a stay for foreigners has been extended from eight to 16 days.

E-visas will be issued online for tourism, business, humanitarian and guest trips. Applicants do not need an invitation, hotel booking or any other documents to confirm their reasons for travel. The consular fee is $40 (free for children aged under six).

The introduction of single e-visas will promote tourism, enhance the investment attractions of Russian regions and boost the national economy as a whole.

The list comprises 52 countries :

1. Austria

2. Andorra

3. Bahrain

4. Belgium

5. Bulgaria

6. Vatican

7. Hungary

8. Germany

9. Greece

10. Denmark

11. India

12. Indonesia

13. Iran

14. Ireland

15. Iceland

16. Spain

17. Italy

18. Cyprus

19. China (including Taiwan)

20. Democratic People's Republic of Korea

21. Kuwait

22. Latvia

23. Lithuania

24. Liechtenstein

25. Luxembourg

26. Malaysia

27. Malta

28. Mexico

29. Monaco

30. Netherlands

31. Norway

32. Oman

33. Poland

34. Portugal

35. Romania

36. San Marino

37.Saudi Arabia

38. North Macedonia

39. Serbia

40. Singapore

41. Slovakia

42. Slovenia

43. Turkey

44. Philippines

45. Finland

46. ​​France

47. Croatia

48. Czech Republic

49. Switzerland

50. Sweden

51. Estonia

52. Japan

More information here

26 views0 comments